Med students win in regional tilt

By Daniel P. Tapaoan, Jr.


Students of the College of Medicine (COM) bagged awards at the virtual 10th Luzon Regional Convention by the Association of Philippine Medical Colleges Inc. – Student Network (APMC-SN) last February 13-14. 


The group of Neil Justine Dela Cruz, Fatimah Sales, and May Enaccel Macalan emerged champion in the Interscholastic Medical Debate Competition. Sales was cited as the best speaker in this competition.


Meanwhile, the team of Jerico Liwag, Azen Rabano, Christian Tagami, and Gail Zabala finished first runner-up in the Clinico-Pathologic Case Conference Competition, and Zabala received a special award for being the best speaker in this contest. 


Moreover, the group of Aprille Dela Cruz, Llewelyne Jain, Joshua Marcial, and Desiree Tabaco prevailed first runner-up in the Project Blueprint with their entry, Pocket Voice (Value of Immunization and Contrivance of Educational contents). 


Apart from these, Bien Paulo Laforteza was also hailed as one of Mga Natatanging Mag-aaral ng Medisina ng Pilipinas (Outstanding Medical Students of the Philippines) during the regional convention.  


Themed “Pamiganaka: A Decade of Medical Excellence toward New Heights,” the 10th APMC Luzon Regional Convention reminisce both the triumphs and adversities of the medical students’ organization in the past 10 years. (StratCom)