3 researchers get AFMA award

Three MMSU researchers won the Agriculture and Fisheries Modernization Act (AFMA) Best Research Paper Silver Award at the 30th National Research Symposium  (NRS) held at the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City on November 7-8.


CASAT Dean Prof. Andres Y. Tungpalan, Joyce R. Tolentino, and Rhea R. Espiritu got the award for their research on “Resource Assessment, Biological Evaluation, and Phytochemical Screening of Economically Important Seaweeds of Ilocos Provinces.”


In 2017, James Paul T. Madigal and  MMSU President Shirley C. Agrupis got the AFMA Best Research Paper Gold Award for their research on “Screening and Characterization of Stress Tolerant Yeasts in Nipa Sap Fermentation from Cagayan and Quezon Provinces.”


The AFMA Research Paper and Poster awards are conferred by the Department of Agriculture - Bureau of Agricultural Research (DA-BAR) to researchers whose works have led to new technologies, information, processes, or systems that are beneficial to the agriculture and fisheries sector. The 30th NRS was themed “Generating and Integrating Best Practices in Agriculture and Fisheries through Participatory R&D”.