Econ studes bag awards in nat’l summit

By Daniel P. Tapaoan, Jr. 


Economics students of the Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU) bagged major awards in the Case Study Competition during the National Economics Summit (NES) held last September 18 and 19. 


The group of Frances Kyla Labuguen, Christopher Demetrio Ruiz, Kristel Lyn Saldivar and Arriane Vivero (4th year); Karmela Abugan, Kathlyn Mae Belizar, Jody-Ann Rose Guzman and John Karl Ramos (3rd year); and Jaylor Agunat (1st year) prevailed champion in the competition with its study, “COVID-19 Pandemic: Strategic Preparedness and Response of the Philippines.” They were awarded Php 10,000 cash prize and a certificate of recognition. 


Meanwhile, another group of Jenny Joy Dela Cruz, Jamaica Gaile Dagan, Allelie Grace Aoalin, and Rica Mae Gamet (4th year students); Junilen Rica Caliboso (3rd year); and five students from other universities finished third place with its study, “Revamp for a Better Healthcare System.”


These students are among the 24 representatives of the MMSU College of Business, Economics and Accountancy (CBEA) in the two-day symposium. 


Mr. Ericson Pambid, CBEA’s Economic Society (EcoSoc) adviser, said the participants came up with policy recommendations about economic issues brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic. These were presented to esteemed panel of evaluators. 


He said the NES 2021 virtually gathered 260 students from various universities in the Philippines to engage in discourse, debates, and to consolidate views and opinions on economic issues that shape the country. 


With the general theme “Electionomics: Philippine Economics in the Face of Elections,” the NES 2021 tackled the interconnectedness of economy and politics as the nation prepares for the upcoming elections. 


Specifically, topics discussed were the past and current Philippine economy and policies, the Economic Voting Theory, the Geisermaclang (a marketing communications company) and Digital Pilipinas (a movement composed of innovators aiming toward the country’s digital evolution).


Speakers in the summit were Jan Carlo Punongbayan, PhD candidate and teaching fellow of University of the Philippines (UP) School of Economics; Winnie Monsod, UP Diliman professor emeritus; Carmel V. Abao, political science assistant professor at Ateneo De Manila University; Calixto V. Chikiamco, Philippine business person and founder of MRM Studios, Inc. and Mobilemoco, Inc.; and Amor Maclang and Brad Geiser, founders of Geisermaclang and conveners of Digital Plipinas


The Summit has become one of the premier economic fora in the country. (StratCom)