COM students reap awards in regional convention

Students from the College of Medicine (COM) brought home major awards at the close of the 8th Association of Philippine Medical Colleges (APMC) - Student Network Luzon Regional Convention held at St. Paul University in Tuguegarao City, Cagayan last November 16-18.


A group composed of Addielou Fidelfio Abad, Neil Justine Dela Cruz, Jerico Liwag, Azen Rhowell Rabano, Dinelle Laurina Aguilar, Danah Mae Arzadon, Florence Cyril Batan, Jenny Conception, Rae Nissa Joaquin, Mida Dorothy Manayon, Mikee Hannah Nugal, Kathleen Mae Presquito, Shiela Magel Ramon, Fatimah Sales, Sanden Aejas Sison got the championship award in dance competition.


In the individual games, Ma. Eloisa Pedro, Marianne Angelina Lorenzo, and Danielle Quigao also emerged champions in scrabble, badminton, and 400-meter run, respectively. 


The team of Stephen Dann Del Rosario and Ethell Maine Alipio also smashed their opponents in badminton mixed doubles and brought home the championship trophy.


Another group composed of Alipio, Michael Angelo Agra, Jireh Virgilio Gascon II, Alexander Lino I, Lester Sigabu,  Rachelle Bocoboc, Marianne Shem Caraang, Aira Cassandra Castro, Jhicel Ibanez, Hanani Hope Miguel, Empress Therese Diana Morada finished 1st runner-up in the choral contest.


Also, the team composed of Katheryne Castillio, Hanani Hope Miguel, Quigao, and Charlene Marnica Roldan placed 1st runner-up in the 4x100-meter relay. Belson Jade Manligas and Gascon II, too, placed second in scrabble and in 1,500-meter run, respectively.


Meanwhile, Jhicel Ibanez, Quigao, Marianne Angelina Lorenzo, and Castillo landed 2nd runner up in the clinic-pathologic case competition. Jenny Conception checkmated her opponents and placed 3rd in the board game.


Moreover, Abad, Gascon, Joshua Gasler, and Anthory Rabang finished 3rd runners-up in the 4x100-meter relay. Another group composed on Jademoore Aromin, Joseph Stephen Castro, Dela Cruz, Bienn Paulo Laforteza, Dan Drazen Lagmay, Liwag, Allan Jake Malupeng, and Rabano spiked their way to become 3rd runners-up in volleyball.


"We are very happy of these overwhelming results from our participation in this year's regional convention of APMC," one of the participants said, adding that "it's our first time to join in such big event."


Established in July 1967, the APMC Foundation, Inc. is the umbrella organization of all medical schools in the country. Being a non-stock, non-profit, and voluntary organization incorporated under Philippine laws, it is affiliated with the Association of Medical Education in the Western Pacific Region (AMEWPR), a component of the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME).


APMC Foundation, Inc. is committed as the major advocate of social responsiveness and global competitiveness in health development, collaborating with stakeholders.