New teachers oriented on standards for instruction

Forty-five newly-hired faculty members of the Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU) convened in a seminar-workshop at the Center of Teaching Excellence (CTEX) Hall on November 11-12 in order to be oriented with the university’s brand of excellence in instruction.


The activity, dubbed “Onboarding of New Teachers on the University’s Standards for Curriculum and Instruction,” was organized by the CTEX, a special university center based at the College of Teacher Education (CTE), in collaboration with the University’s Human Resource Management Office. 


CTEX Chief Aleli R. Martin said the workshop has equipped the new teachers with the knowledge and skills on the outcomes-based education (OBE) principles; the standards for curriculum, instruction and assessment; and the 21st century skills for face-to-face and online teaching modes. 


Of the 44 participants, 15 are from CTE; eight from the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS); five from the College of Agriculture, Food and Sustainable Development (CAFSD); four each from the College of Aquatic Sciences and Applied Technology (CASAT) and the College of Industrial Technology (CIT); three each from the College of Business, Economics and Accountancy (CBEA) and College of Health Sciences (CHS); two from the College of Engineering (COE); and one from the College of Medicine (COM). 


Formerly called the Teaching Competency Enhancement Seminar-Workshop (TCESW), Prof. Martin said the training was revised to make it suitable for the needs of the flexible learning under the new normal.


The following professors served as the resource persons in the activity: Dr. Jovenita A. Aragon (Outcomes-Based Education); Dr. Estrella R. Pacis (the University’s Standards on OBE Syllabi-Making); Prof. Gerry D. Abad (Formulating Learning Outcomes); and Dr. Lilybeth C. Agno (Assessment in OBE Curriculum); Dr. Lilibeth G. Abrogena (Traditional Assessment), Prof. Neil Christian T. Corales (Authentic Assessment), Dr. Rosabel L. Acosta (Designing Table of Specifications), and Dr. Madeline T. Fernando (Effective Lecturing Strategies); Dr. Jahnese D. Asuncion (Teaching Critical Thinking), Prof. Tristan Deo M. Parinas (Developing Problem Solving Skills), Prof. Julius C. Pumaras (Deepening Collaboration among Students), and Dr. Ronald Candy S. Lasaten (Designing Instructional Materials). 


MMSU President Shirley C. Agrupis urged the new teachers to get involved in the university’s academic endeavors by bringing their ideas and experiences to the forefront.


“A great university is defined by having engaged teachers and scholars who bring new energy, and perspectives to our students, to each other, and to the university,” she said. – Niña Christelle M. Sumintac, Correspondent (StratCom)