7 programs undergo accreditation

Affirming its strong commitment to academic excellence, MMSU submitted its seven programs for evaluation to the members of the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP) last November 19-21.


Of these programs, five were undergraduate degrees and two were graduate courses. The undergraduate programs are BS Industrial Technology, Bachelor in Technical Teacher Education, BS Forestry, BS Agriculture, AB English Language. The graduate programs, on the other hand, are MS Rural Development and PhD Rural Development. 


Except for ABEL which underwent Level III accreditation, the four undergraduate programs and the two graduate programs were subjected to Level IV accreditation.


Dr. Evelyn Taban of the Nueva Viscaya State University (NVSU) led the 15-member delegation, together with the team leaders assigned to evaluate each of the programs of the three colleges.


The team leaders who assessed the programs were Dr. Marites A. Fronda of the NVSU for BSIT; Dr. Mercedes A. Trajano of the Nueva Ecija University of Science and Technology for BTTE; Dr. Jo A. Espiritu and Dr. Nestor Z. Rondina of the President Ramon Magsaysay State University (PRMSU) for BSF and BSA, respectively; Dr. Evelyn H. Dagñalen of the Polytechnic University of the Philippines (PUP) for ABEL; and Dr. Florie B. Gapido of the University of Rizal System for MS and PhD RD programs.


Members of the accreditation team across six programs for Level IV accreditation were Dr. Reermerlyn B. Plamo of the NVSU, Dr. Susan A Lopez and Prof. Wileen Chiara of the Mountain Province Polytechnic State College, Prof. Carlo T. Nabo of the West Mindanao State University, and Dr. Erlinda P. Orgaya of the Partido State University.


On the other hand, the accreditation team for the ABEL was composed of Dr. Lilian F. Uy of the PRMSU, Prof. Sherry Ann C. Medrano of PUP, Dr. Noel B. Begnalen of the Abra State Institute of Science and Technology, and Maribel A. Helario of the Tarlac State University.


During the opening program, MMSU President Shirley C. Agrupis said the accreditation process plays a very important role in attaining the university's vision and mission, adding that "we take pride with our strength and we fully recognize the areas that remain to be worked on."


"That is why we continuously submit our programs to AACCUP accreditation. We then carefully address this status of our university so that we can properly and truthfully position MMSU," Dr. Agrupis said.


"The institution is committed to quality assurance, being one of the founding members of the AACCUP, and standing as one of the SUCs (state universities and colleges) which have the most number of accredited programs," she beamed.


Dr. Agrupis said she was very glad that the AACCUP sent only the best and most discerning among its eminent pool of accreditors, thanking the delegates for their commitment and dedication to the challenging activity.


She also commended the college deans, department chairs, and focal persons assigned to the different areas subjected to accreditation for their sacrifices in preparing the needed documents.


Meanwhile, Dr. Taban, the overall coordinator of the AACCUP delegation, said accreditation survey visits are being conducted in tertiary schools to ensure the quality and relevance of the degree programs they offer. She also thanked MMSU for its commitment in submitting its programs to such process.