AACCUP visits 6 programs

Total article views: 162

Affirming its strong commitment to quality and excellence, MMSU is submitting six programs to Level 4 accreditation. The visit of a formidable delegation of AACCUP accreditors began on Aug. 21 amidst am inclement weather and ends with a closing program at the University Function Hall today, Aug. 25.

The twenty-member delegation is headed by the overall coordinator, Dr. Thelma T. Lanuza of Isabela State University, together with cluster coordinators assigned for each of the two campuses where the programs are based: Dr. Yolanda B. Viloria of the Nueva Vizcaya State University for the Batac Campus and Dr. Renelda P. Nacianceno of the Iloilo Science and Technology University for the Laoag Campus. 

During the opening program held Aug. 22 at Teatro Ilocandia, MMSU President Shirley C. Agrupis underscored the importance of subjecting the university’s academic programs to accreditation in view of her administration’s vision of elevating MMSU as one of the top ten universities in the Philippines. “We would be happy if all our six programs pass the accreditation visit, but what is more important is the help we get in identifying areas we must work on so that we may truly espouse excellence and deliver high quality services,” she said. The president echoed the remark of Academic Affairs Vice President Prima Fe Franco that “the widest room in the university is still the room for improvement.”

 In her message, Dr. Lanuza expressed appreciation for the very warm welcome the group received from the university officials and constituency. She shared that it was the university president who personally welcomed their group when they arrived at the University Hostel. Dr. Lanuza also noted that when their delegation visited the Office of the President to pay courtesy, it was the president herself who offered them leis. “In our many years of accreditation, it was the first time we experienced that kind of hospitality,” she said.  

The six programs across levels—two bachelor’s, three master’s, and one doctor’s—are being evaluated by teams led by: Dr Emma C. Ventura (Ramon Magsaysay Technological University) for the MS/M in Crop Science program, Dr. Viloria for BS Biology, Dr. Maria S. Tugano (Catanduanes State University) for BS Mathematics, Prof. Ricky G. Abaleña III (West Visayas State University, MA/M in Public Administration; Dr. Emily M. Arangote (Aklan State University) for Doctor in Education-major in Educational Management, and Dr. Nacianceno for MA/M in Education.      

The members of the Batac cluster are Dr. Corazon M. Cudia of Nueva Vizcaya State Univesity); Dr. Florie P. Gapido and Dr. Ariel Plantilla of the University of Rizal System; Prof. Zoraida E. Bartolome, Central Luzon State University; Dr. Sonia C. Carbonell, Camarines Norte State College; Dr. Eden C. Paz, Central Bicol State University of Agriculture; Dr. Leonila L. Barbacena, Bicol University; and Dr. Esmen M. Cabal of Ramon Magsaysay Technological University.  

For the Laoag cluster, the members are: Dr. Celedonia Hilario of Aklan State University; Dr. Alberto N. Naperi, Sorsogon State College; Dr. Aurora E. Araojo, Catanduanes State University; Dr. Leoncio M. Matibag, Southern Luzon State University; Dr. Atanacio M. Nacana, Ramon Magsaysay Technological University; and Dr. Noralyn M. Natura of Nueva Vizcaya State University.

The MMSU Program Accreditation and Quality Assurance office is headed by engineer Amy Ruth R. Cocson as director, with Dr. Lorma M. Valera as assistant director. (By Herdy L. Yumul)


Recommended News

The government is pushing to rvive its weakening garlic industry with the coming up of mass propagation and tissue culture of virus-free garlic planting materials that can boost production. Spearheaded by the plant breeders at the Institute...
Much has changed the way students felt as they went back to their dormitories this semester. From the former dirty toilets and the rusty pipes that channel water into the sinks and lavatories, these not so comfortable...
A big haul in a single cast. This aptly describes the feat that the MMSU-CHS Physical Therapy (PT) Department has accomplished during the recent Licensure Examinations for Physical Therapists administered by the Professional Regulation Commission’s Board...
One hundred thirty two faculty members of the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) attended the training on the new general education (GE) courses, which will be taught to Grade 12 graduates of the K-12...