AACCUP visits 6 programs

Total article views: 212

Affirming its strong commitment to quality and excellence, MMSU is submitting six programs to Level 4 accreditation. The visit of a formidable delegation of AACCUP accreditors began on Aug. 21 amidst am inclement weather and ends with a closing program at the University Function Hall today, Aug. 25.

The twenty-member delegation is headed by the overall coordinator, Dr. Thelma T. Lanuza of Isabela State University, together with cluster coordinators assigned for each of the two campuses where the programs are based: Dr. Yolanda B. Viloria of the Nueva Vizcaya State University for the Batac Campus and Dr. Renelda P. Nacianceno of the Iloilo Science and Technology University for the Laoag Campus. 

During the opening program held Aug. 22 at Teatro Ilocandia, MMSU President Shirley C. Agrupis underscored the importance of subjecting the university’s academic programs to accreditation in view of her administration’s vision of elevating MMSU as one of the top ten universities in the Philippines. “We would be happy if all our six programs pass the accreditation visit, but what is more important is the help we get in identifying areas we must work on so that we may truly espouse excellence and deliver high quality services,” she said. The president echoed the remark of Academic Affairs Vice President Prima Fe Franco that “the widest room in the university is still the room for improvement.”

 In her message, Dr. Lanuza expressed appreciation for the very warm welcome the group received from the university officials and constituency. She shared that it was the university president who personally welcomed their group when they arrived at the University Hostel. Dr. Lanuza also noted that when their delegation visited the Office of the President to pay courtesy, it was the president herself who offered them leis. “In our many years of accreditation, it was the first time we experienced that kind of hospitality,” she said.  

The six programs across levels—two bachelor’s, three master’s, and one doctor’s—are being evaluated by teams led by: Dr Emma C. Ventura (Ramon Magsaysay Technological University) for the MS/M in Crop Science program, Dr. Viloria for BS Biology, Dr. Maria S. Tugano (Catanduanes State University) for BS Mathematics, Prof. Ricky G. Abaleña III (West Visayas State University, MA/M in Public Administration; Dr. Emily M. Arangote (Aklan State University) for Doctor in Education-major in Educational Management, and Dr. Nacianceno for MA/M in Education.      

The members of the Batac cluster are Dr. Corazon M. Cudia of Nueva Vizcaya State Univesity); Dr. Florie P. Gapido and Dr. Ariel Plantilla of the University of Rizal System; Prof. Zoraida E. Bartolome, Central Luzon State University; Dr. Sonia C. Carbonell, Camarines Norte State College; Dr. Eden C. Paz, Central Bicol State University of Agriculture; Dr. Leonila L. Barbacena, Bicol University; and Dr. Esmen M. Cabal of Ramon Magsaysay Technological University.  

For the Laoag cluster, the members are: Dr. Celedonia Hilario of Aklan State University; Dr. Alberto N. Naperi, Sorsogon State College; Dr. Aurora E. Araojo, Catanduanes State University; Dr. Leoncio M. Matibag, Southern Luzon State University; Dr. Atanacio M. Nacana, Ramon Magsaysay Technological University; and Dr. Noralyn M. Natura of Nueva Vizcaya State University.

The MMSU Program Accreditation and Quality Assurance office is headed by engineer Amy Ruth R. Cocson as director, with Dr. Lorma M. Valera as assistant director. (By Herdy L. Yumul)


Recommended News

MMSU President Shirley C. Agrupis had pushed a partnership with the Provincial Government of Ilocos Norte (PGIN) and different local government units (LGUs) by asking them to support the One Town, One Technology (OTOTech) project...
The MMSU ranks 16th in the list of 20 best accountancy schools, and 12th in the list of 22 pharmacy schools in the Philippines  for 2017. This was released by the LocalPulse,  a social news and...
At the close of the 2017 Regional Culture and the Arts Festival held last October 25-26, the MMSU Team Stallions has again proven that winning in this annual competition is its way of life. Held at...
The College of Engineering (COE) and the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) emerged as the overall champions in the 2017 university games and cultural competitions beating the other colleges in average percentage points. Although the...
Because colleges and offices in the Batac City campus are far from each other, a campus area network (CAN) will be established to connect them. Approved by the Board of Regents (BOR) during its last meeting,...


SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1142 UPDATE command denied to user 'www-client'@'' for table 'news'