About the Ilocos Norte Science Community

About the Center

The Ilocos Norte Science Community was originally organized as the Batac Science Community (BSC) with nine founding members signing a Memorandum of Agreement on 08 July 1996. The word Batac was adopted which is the name of the town where the community is based. Its establishment was through the initiative of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Region I anchored on Executive Order No. 784. BSC was renamed seven years later on 11 September 2003 by virtue of Resolution No. 02, Series of 2003 of the BSC Governing Board. Thereafter, membership in the community increased to a total of 18 until today with the addition of nine to the original nine founding members (Annex 1). INSC became a corporate body on 07 August 2006 after its registration with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Except for three members belonging to the private sector, all the rest are public or government agencies (GA). In terms of sectoral representation, eight are primary RDE agencies, four academic institutions, two LGUs, one each representing the medical and training/extension sectors, and two honorary divisions from the Department of Education.  All the RDE agencies are national departments or staff or line bureaus and attached agencies with field offices within Ilocos Norte, with mostly in the City of Batac.


The community is administered by three bodies – the Governing Board (GB), the Technical Working Group (TWG), and the Management Group (MG).  The GB is composed of the heads of the member-agencies and acts as the highest policy making body of the community.  It is chaired by the head of the base and coordinating agency, the Mariano Marcos State University (MMSU) which was designated as such from the beginning until the present. The vice-chairship is also held by the regional director of DOST ever since.

The TWG serves as the operational manager of the programs and projects of the community. It is composed of the designated coordinators from each member-agency and the community director. Led by the director and working as a collegial body, they translate the policies formulated by the GB into operational plans. Likewise, the group assists the GB in policy-making by giving feedbacks and proposals of agenda of action.

The MG takes the role of secretariat and manages the day-to-day affairs of the community.  It is headed by the community director with the MMSU coordinator and a support staff as members.

Program Thrusts

The community has an 8-point program thrust as follows:

  1. Development, rehabilitation, conservation, and wise utilization and management of resources and ecosystem;
  2. Increased aqua- and agri-based production, processing, storage, and protection against pests and diseases
  3. Biotechnology;
  4. Effective and efficient technology transfer;
  5. Efficient marketing, distribution and support systems;
  6. Promotion of good nutrition, health and general well-being;
  7. Social and behavioral research to develop and propagate S&T culture; and
  8. Policy advocacy.

Areas of Cooperation

The community identified six key areas of cooperation which includes:

  1. Participation in national science and technology activities;
  2. Library exchange program;
  3. Information exchange and dissemination;
  4. Physical facilities including infrastructure and research equipment;
  5. Resource development and sharing; and
  6. Development of linkages with other agencies, institutions and communities.