About the Teacher Education

About the College



Brief History of the College


         - The Laoag Normal School was created

          - offered a four-year secondary normal school curriculum

 June 1939

         - The Ilocos Norte Normal School was founded

         - offered the two-year collegiate curriculum

 June 24, 1952

         - The INNS was expanded


         - conferred Bachelor of Science in Education (major in elementary education) for the first time

         - offered collegiate courses

         - expanded its service area which included Abra, Batanes, Cagayan, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur and Isabela

 June 22, 1963

        - conversion of the INNS to Northern Luzon Teachers College (NLTC) by virtue of RA No. 3705

        - began offering courses leading to Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education and consequently Bachelor of Secondary Education

 January 14, 1976

        - conversion of NLTC to Northern Luzon State College (NLSC) by virtue of PD 944

 January 6, 1978

        - The College became the College of Education of MMSU by virtue of PD 1279


        - The College was named College of Teacher Education to emphasize its role on the training of teachers.