About the Industrial Technology

About the College

The College of Industrial Technology (CIT) is located in Laoag City, with external campus in Paoay, Ilocos Norte.
It was chosen in 1983 as one of the 21 public technological institutes in the Technical Vocational Education Project (TVEP) of the then Department of Education, Culture, and Sports (DECS) mandated to produce the needed manpower for industrial growth and development in the country.

The college was an accredited regional trade skills training and testing center in Region 1 by the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) and a regional training center in ceramic by the Product Design and Development Center of the Philippines. 

It also hosts a Toyota Technology Center (TTC), one among 18 established in nominated partner schools in the country under the Toyota Automotive Education Program (TAEP) of the Toyota Motor Philippines Foundation (TMPF) Inc., which is envisioned to become the regional skills development center in automotive servicing.


Historical Background

The College of Industrial Technology (CIT) was formerly the college department of the Ilocos Norte College of Arts and Trades (INCAT) in Laoag City which was integrated into the university by P.D. 1279 or the decree creating the Mariano Marcos State University.

Upon its integration into the University, the College was originally named as the Institute of Industrial Technology (IIT).  Engineering and business administration courses were offered in 1983 which paved the way for the renaming of the college to the Institute of Technology (IT).  The three-year non-degree Diploma of Industrial Technology (DIT) program, which later renamed to the Diploma of Technology (DT), was offered in 1985.  

In 1986, the engineering courses were transferred to the Batac Campus with the creation of the College of Engineering, and the business administration courses towards the establishment of the College of Economics and Management (CEM), now the College of Business, Economics, and Accountancy (CBEA) also at the main campus. 

The College was renamed in 1995 to the College of Technology (COT).  To focus on tertiary education, a reengineering of the DT and GRCO non-degree programs was instituted in June 2004, which resulted to the development of a ladderized curriculum towards the four-year BSIT program.  The College was later renamed in 2004 College of Industrial Technology (CIT) to reflect the college’s role of providing education and training in the specific field of industrial technology.